2011 FPA Winners

2011 Front Page Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award: Sue Simmons, News 4 New York.


In Depth Reporting: Sandra Peddie, Newsday, “Inside Steve Levy’s financial disclosure tug-of-war.”

Beat Reporting: Susan Pulliam, The Wall Street Journal, “On the Inside.”

Features: Margalit Fox, The New York Times, Collection of Work.

Wire Services

Beat Reporting: Beth Fouhy, The Associated Press, Collection of work on New York Politics and Scandals.

Spot News: Katherine Burton, Bloomberg,“Soros Returns Client Money to End Four-Decade Hedge-Fund Career.”

Feature: Jennifer Peltz, Associated Press, “RSV-Passé? Custom’s decline spells hosts’ vexation.”

In Depth Reporting: Kristina Cooke and Emily Flitter, Reuters, “The ties that bind at the Federal Reserve.”


Special Reporting: Elizabeth Vargas, Gail Deutsch and Terri Lichstein, ABC News, 20/20, “Shattered Faith.”

Series: Barbara Nevins Taylor, WNYW-Fox 5, “Government Waste.”

Special Programming: Soledad O’Brien, Geraldine Moriba, Michelle Rozsa, Nelli Black, Alyse Shorland, CNN, “Don’t Fail Me: Education in America.”

Interview: Diane Sawyer, ABC News, “Jaycee Dugard: Her First Interview.”

Feauture: Elizabeth Vargas, Terri Lichstein, Sarah Lang, Shana Druckerman, ABC News, 20/20, “Stephanie Nielson’s Story.”


Breaking News: Debbie Egan-Chin, New York Daily News, “Why did nobody help him?.”

Feature: Mary Altaffer, Associated Press, “Cooling Off.”

Photo Essay: Alejandra Villa, Newsday, “Marisa, A little girl’s fight to live.”

Reporter of the Year: Maria Bartiromo, CNBC.


Prepared Report: Sally Herships, American Public Media, “The Five Percent Rule.”

Feature: Carole Zimmer, Bloomberg Radio, “The Burgeoning Business of Yoga.”


In Depth Reporting: Amy Fine Collins, Vanity Fair, “Sex Trafficking of Americans: The Girls Next Door.”

Digital Video: Alejandra Villa, Newsday, “Carl Paladino — Behind the Scene.”

Multimedia News Package: Jane Spencer, Kathy Jones, Jesse Ellison, Jessica Bennett, Danielle Friedman and Tina Brown, The Daily Beast, “Women in the World.”

Blogs: Tara Parker-Pope, The New York Times, “Well” Blog.


Features: Nancy Jo Sales, Vanity Fair, “The Quaid Conspiracy.”

In Depth Reporting: Jennifer Gonnerman, NewYork Magazine, “Machete.”

Essay: Erin Zammett Ruddy, Marie Claire, “My Great Escape.”

Specialized Writing

Business: Chrystia Freeland, Reuters, Collection of Work.

Opinion/Criticism/Analysis: Dionne Searcey, The Wall Street Journal, Collection of Work.

Sports: Hannah Karp, The Wall Street Journal, Collection of Work.

Fashion: Maureen Orth, Vanity Fair, “Cassini Royale.”

Medicine/Health/Fitness: Hallie Levine Sklar, Health Magazine, Collection of Work.

Science: Gina Kolata, The New York Times, Collection of Work.

The Martha Coman Award For Best New Journalist

Mirela Iverac, WNYC.

The Nellie Bly Award For Best Bylined Front Page Story

Jessica Silver-Greenberg, The Wall Street Journal, “In Debt Collecting, Location Matters.”