2014 Front Page Awards - Enter Here
Deadline for entries: SEP 5th

Annual Photo Auction Highlights


The Newswomen’s Club of New York
Annual Photo Auction

President Barack Obama’s unannounced visit to a private residence across the street from the photo auction headquarters on May 14–and the barricading of the block–did not stop the newswomen of New York from pulling off a sold-out photography show.

When the barricades finally lifted 30 minutes after the auction’s scheduled start time, about 200 guests flooded into the landmark Ukrainian Institute’s mansion on East 79th Street. They fought friendly bidding wars over works by prize-winning photographers, including show favorites “Cuba Yellow” by Sharon Gamsin, “Baboons” by Seth Kugel and “Ground Zero” by Warzer Jaff. By the end of the night, we had auctioned off over 50 images and awarded two door prizes.

Special thanks to our sponsors Aidil Wines, Wolffer Estate Vineyard, A.I. Friedman and the Ukrainian Institute of New York.

Proceeds benefit Newswomen’s Club programs.

Front Page Awards Trophies


The 2014 Front Page Awards are open for entries and this year you can enter online!
Entering has never been this fast and easy.
Click here for online entry form and to download your entry!

2013 Front Page Award Winners

Hurricane Sandy took the Front Page Awards by storm this year, claiming two Journalist of the Year awards for pictures and words, and awards for Best In-Depth Reporting by a Wire Service, Best Front Page Photo, Best Feature Photo, Best Local News Reporting, and Best Mixed Media News Reporting. See full list of award winners.

The Front Page Award is among the most prestigious journalism awards in the world and one of the few that specifically recognizes journalistic excellence by newswomen. The awards were presented at a black tie gala in New York on November 14. The Marie Colvin Front Page Award for Foreign Correspondence went to Alia Malek of Al Jazeera. This award was introduced last year to honor correspondent Marie Colvin, who was killed in 2012 while covering the conflict between Syrian government troops and rebels in Homs. The Front Page Award for Lifetime Achievement went to Tina Brown, former editor of Vanity Fair and The New Yorker and founder of The Daily Beast. LETTER FROM THE PRESIDENT After all is said and done, what defines us as journalists is not just the ability to turn a clever phrase or the vision to break a big story, writes Toni Reinhold, president of the Newswomen’s Club. It also takes courage. (Click here to read letter.)

No Agenda Tuesday, Aug. 19

Join us for the Summer rooftop edition of No Agenda Tuesday at Rare (inside the Affinia Shelburne Hotel), 303 Lexington Avenue at 37th Street. Aug. 19 starting at 7 p.m.

No Agenda evenings, held on the third Tuesday of the month, are an opportunity to meet and mingle with fellow club members. Often we gather for a glass of wine in the beautiful salon of the National Arts Club, which houses our headquarters, but sometimes we also like to mix it up and try new places around the city. If you have a favorite bar that is easily accessible and suitable for groups, send your suggestions our way.
Email us at: newswomensclub@verizon.net


New Media Panelists, Newswomen's Club of New York

A group of leading women editors of some of the hottest digital media startups in New York City recently shared their insights with the Newswomen’s Club about how their online publications are seeking to attract readers with new ways to present and distribute news and other editorial content in a highly competitive marketplace. The panelists, pictured from left to right, were Lisa Tozzi, news director at BuzzFeed; S. Mitra Kalita, ideas editor at Quartz; Jessica Liebman, managing editor at Business Insider; and Nicole Bode, deputy editor of news at DNAinfo.com New York.

Newswomen’s Club Marks 92nd Anniversary

Emma Bugbee

Emma Bugbee

The Newswomen’s Club of New York begins its 92nd year on March 8. On that date in 1922, some of the most famous newswomen in the world met to form a club. They appointed a board, and Emma Bugbee, who was named secretary, took these minutes:

“The first meeting of newspaperwomen was held at the Hotel Vanderbilt on Wednesday evening, March 8. 24 were present. It was noted to organize as The New York Newspaperwomen’s Club.”

“Miss Martha Coman was appointed temporary president, Miss Theodora Beau, treasurer, and Miss Emma Bugbee, secretary. The president was authorized to appoint a committee of five to attend to the details of organization.”

“It was agreed that membership should be limited to women who make newspaper work their profession. Active members to be those regularly employed, on salary or guarantee, on the editorial staff of the New York newspapers. Twenty-five dollars was named as the amount of the annual dues.”

Emma Bugbee, Temporary Secretary

Leave a comment