Serve as a platform for mentorship and networking in with the best in the business through regular social  events including No Agenda Tuesdays, our popular monthly gatherings.

Run masterclasses, workshops, and other training programs for members designed to enhance their marketable skills. 

Fund The Anne O'Hare McCormick Memorial Scholarship, which supports annually three promising students enrolled in  Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism (see below for more information). 

Conduct an annual photography auction featuring work by award-winning photojournalists to support the Club's operations. 

Host The Front Page Awards, established in 1937 to recognize journalistic excellence. They continue to beamong the most prestigious awards in American journalism. Learn more.

Invite authors, filmmakers, and prominent journalists to discuss their work and processes with members. 

Anne O'Hare McCormick

Anne O'Hare McCormick

The Anne O’Hare McCormick Memorial Fund, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt foundation, set up by Newswomen’s Club members Emma Bugbee, Martha Coman, Loretta King, Mary Margaret McBride and Kathleen McLaughlin to honor Anne O’Hare McCormick (The New York Times) after her death in 1954. The purpose of the fund is to give scholarships to outstanding women students at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism.

Anne O’Hare McCormick gained prominence while reporting from Europe in the 1930s. She chronicled Adolf Hitler’s rise to power and interviewed many of the power brokers and leaders of that era. In 1937, she became the first woman to win a Pulitzer Prize for foreign correspondence. She served as a vice president of the Newswomen’s Club for several years, and she was the first woman to serve on The New York Times editorial board.

The McCormick Fund’s Joan O’Sullivan Scholarship was created in 2008 through a gift from former Newswomen’s Club President Rosalind Massow. Joan O’Sullivan was a columnist and editor for King Features Syndicate and served for many years as president of the McCormick Fund as well as President of the Newswomen's Club of New York and chairperson of the Front Page Awards.

The McCormick Fund has given more than $300,000 in scholarships. It is generously supported by The Newswomen’s Club of New York,  Thomson Reuters, and for many years, the New York Times Company Foundation, as well as by individual donors. Tax-deductible contributions can be sent to: Anne O’Hare McCormick Memorial Fund, Inc., The Newswomen’s Club of New York, 15 GramercyPark South, New York, N.Y. 10003, Attention Jan Paschal, Treasurer.

The McCormick Fund Board of Trustees

Treasurer – Jan Paschal is a Reuters desk editor who specializes in Wall Street and market regulation. She also writes and blogs about fashion, celebrities and lifestyle trends.

Trustee – Gail Collins is an Op-Ed columnist for The New York Times, a Columbia J-School adjunct professor and an author. In 2001, she became the first woman appointed editor of the Times editorial page. In 2007, she left that post to write her book, “When Everything Changed: The Amazing Journey of Women from 1960 to the Present.”

Trustee – Carolyn Purcell is an award-winning TV producer who has worked on both live and documentary programming. She has covered some of the nation’s biggest legal stories for Court TV and Turner Broadcasting.

President – Lenore Skenazy is an author, a Front Page Award-winning columnist, an expert on modern parenting issues, the founder of the website — www.freerangekids.com — and an active member of the Twitterati. She is also a public speaker and recently used Skype to address an audience in Australia.

Vice President – Judith Crist is the Front Page Award-winning former film critic for the New York Herald-Tribune, “Today” Show and TV Guide; author of three books on film, including “The Private Eye, The Cowboy and the Very Naked Girl” and an adjunct professor in her 52nd year of teaching at the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism.

Secretary – Sylvia Carter writes the “a la Carter” column for Newsday. In 35 years on Newsday’s staff, she was the first to write “Eats,” reviews of down-to-earth restaurants. She also founded Kidsday, a section “for kids and by kids, mostly,” which started a national trend. She is a past president of the Newswomen’s Club.